top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Zella Day's New Album of the Year 'Sunday in Heaven'


Almost a month ago, Zella Day released her new album, 'Sunday in Heaven'. And I immediately dubbed it album of the year. With fans often nicknaming her the 'backbone of the music industry', this new album absolutely proved and solicited that statement.


With the single release of Mushroom Punch, which was a song that quite literally took you on an addictive trip, I was eager for the rest, and I hadn't been the biggest fan of her work since Mustang Kids. It was the first time in a really long time that a song had actually genuinely excited me.


Sunday in Heaven got released and that was it; there was not a single trip, every song was unique and yet equally as trippy, and that has been Zella Day's vibe from the very beginning with songs like Compass. What I loved, despite it being a no skip album, was that I had several favourites.

What often, I find, defines my love for a song, is I measure it on its ability to send me into a movie, create a story, a visual naturally finding me instead of the other way around, and that was exactly what this album did, especially with her song Last Time.


Zella Day also, as I've mentioned I love before, talks deeply about love and life (are you seeing the themes here when it comes to the albums and songs and musicians I rate highly?). Heartbreak, loss, deep subjects, triggering subjects, love, and the comings and goings of life are only a handful of the beautiful things she sings on, not to mention her lyricism around them all being absolutely emotion evoking and stunning.


This album is one hundred percent one of the best albums released this year and has become the soundtrack to my life. It is raw, real, beautiful, strange and trippy, and I believe it touches the souls that need to be fed something so deeply in tune with the human experience.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page