top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

SPILT Live; Sweaty, Loud and Insane

I seem like a bit of an asshole when I stand at the back of the room watching a band play whilst everyone's practically butting heads and downing beers but I have my reasons. As much as I love the bands I often go to watch, there's still a large part of me that wants to simply observe, to analyse, to take mental notes. I can assure you, I DID look like an asshole at the back watching SPILT, but it allowed me to watch in a way most people can't or don't. And I think they did fucking great.


Although I wasn't able to stick around for the entire set, you don't need to to get the real entirety of SPILT. I mean, no other artist or band I've seen quite literally strips off like Mo, the lead singer, does before, seemingly, every single gig. I've seen many bands live, many new bands, bands quite literally doing their first performance, bands that are small but have been around for years, the list goes on. What was refreshing about SPILT live was that there seemed to be some form of routine. The backdrop, Mo being Mo, etc. They know who they are.


I fear boosting ego's here but alas, it is without a doubt that these guys are talented and equally love what they do. It was also clear, being able to watch their crowd just as much as the band, that they love what they do too. For a small venue at Jaguar Shoes, the variety of people there was shocking; every different niche and stereotype from straight-looking people to clearly avid festival goers to a couple of women who were one hundred percent someones mothers. But I liked that most of all.

It wasn't long until other shirts were coming off and hair was flying everywhere. Knowing the band personally, it's nice to see that when they perform it's like they individually go into a trance. As much as they are in it, the music, and performance, seems within them, and turned on like a switch.


For lack of a better phrase, 'interactions with fans' may seem impossible to avoid at smaller venues, so if I highlight that they spoke to them like friends and did indeed interact with them during the set, it may seem rather silly and pointless. This time last year I watched a band I loved in a venue the exact same size. They spoke to me because they were also a band I was interviewing. But they ran as fast as possible if they had to enter a crowd of the people watching them. As much as I get it, and it isn't a criticism, it's a bonus to me at least that the guys in SPILT are very human, in the nicest way possible. There's no line between them and anyone else.


Their songs are brilliant, and they sound just as is person. As someone who grew up with a dad in the music industry, on music being my foundation, on the British music scene being my surroundings, this was the first time it seemed like I'd gone back to just that. So, if you're in the mood for a bunch of sweaty, loud and insane people, albeit talented, go see SPILT next time you can.


263 views0 comments
bottom of page