top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

'People want artists to stay the same but it's impossible' - Interview with Electric Guest.


image via electricguest IG

I was able to catch up with band Electric Guest, with both Asa and Matthew who responded individually to my questions. This was a very exciting interview as I've been a fan for years, well known for hits such as 'Dear To Me' and 'This Head I Hold'. Read below for both of their perspectives on COVID-19, the creation of their first songs and their performances over the years.


ME: I fell in love with your music more than three years ago now and I still love everything you guys release. It is so unique and captivating all at once. What inspires you most to make ‘your sound’?


MATTHEW: Thank you so much! I think we have an

arsenal of things that we collect thru the years that inspire us or influence us. That list always seems to changing. 


ASA: I feel like I’m still trying to shape our sound. It’s hard because I want us to have a sound and be specific but I also want us to change with every album.  People tend to think they want their favorite artists to stay the same but it’s kind of impossible. One, because you change so much as a person and two, I think it gets boring if you try and recreate some past vibe. I think I’m mostly inspired by things outside of music, like other genres of art: movies, visual art etc. Music kind of stresses me out. 


M: If you could come up with a way to describe your music as simply as possible, how would you?

A: I’m awful at this. I guess it’s just our version of pop. And it tends to be optimistic. 


M: with COVID-19, how have you guys been affected by it this year show wise?


MA: Yes, we had to cancel some festival dates and a smaller run of tour dates. Luckily we had just finished touring the US and Europe when all of the restrictions hit. I feel for those bands that had records come out and couldn’t do conventional press/touring on it. 


M: Has this time in isolation bought anything good for you musically? Perhaps more time to write songs, etc. 


MA: Honestly, my life is about the same. I’m always at home writing something. Either for us or composing for a movie. I finished composing the score to Palm Springs and mixed it while on tour right before Covid. Luckily that got a release during the pandemic. 

A: This year has been kind of hellish but yeah, it hasn’t changed my day to day too much. I have zero structure to my life so it feels pretty much like any other time. I’m always like, “what day is it? What month are we in?”. But I will say it’s been hard, inpiration-wise. I did start working with The Weeknd and we released a song called “Virgin/The Weeknd’s Dark Secret” for that show American Dad. That was fun. 


M: my favourite all-time songs by you are Dear To Me and This Head I Hold. Where did the ideas for those songs arise from? 


MA: This Head I Hold was one of the first songs I ever played on, pretty much when I first met Asa. And Dear To Me was spawned from us getting to use a studio that I was working in that had a ton of old synths. We spent many a late nights going thru them

A: Both of them were just about whatever themes I was  going through in my life at the time. This Head I Hold is about trying to rise above the vapidity of the culture and Dear To Me is about loving someone regardless of if you end up together.


M: Countless songs by you guys have millions of listens. Did you ever think your music would reach so many ears?


MA: I have no idea about how to judge plays in Spotify. I really judge our success by our live show. It’s way more of an immediate reaction/response

A: I never did, no. There was a point a few years ago when we were in France where we had just finished a show and all these people gathered outside our greenroom window and sung “Dear To Me” to us for like 10 minutes. They didn’t know the words very well but it was really sweet and I think it made me realize the reach of the music. There’s been a lot of random memories like that.


M: you have almost 2 million monthly listeners. Do you feel like he journey to this number has been slow or fast? Has it been worth it?

A: It’s been slow, which is nice. I think the fast way is scary and maybe kind of unhealthy? I don’t know. It’s definitely been worth it.


M: what are you most excited for in the upcoming year, as I know this year has had many downs for musicians?


MA: Live music! It’s going to feel wild going to a show again and being packed in a 


A: I’m excited for the possibility of change in this country, ff maybe there being a renaissance after all the choas. It’s such a devisive, difficult time right now but usually these times inspire periods of peace. That’s my hope. I think we all just want some good news.


M: your cover art is very unique compared to those I’ve interviewed before. Where does the inspiration come from?


MA: Our friend Elevator Teeth. He’s amazing, please look him up!


A: That’s our boy Elevator Teeth. I love him so much. We met randomly online and have been close ever since. He’s a true weirdo. I love his stuff because he blends old school illustration with a digital, modern vibe. 


M: Finally, for the last one I like to ask something a bit more fun. If you had to choose one song of yours to play for the rest of your life, which would it be and why?


MA: Dear To Me is so much fun to play live. It’s crazy how many times I’ll be playing on stage and see a couple give one another a loving glance, cuddle or kiss. The sentiment is pure and always feels embraced live

A: Oh my, that would be painful. Ha. I mean, I can barely listen to our stuff once we finish it. But maybe one of the chiller songs, seeing as I’d be listening to it for all time. Maybe “Max It Out”. 

103 views0 comments
bottom of page