top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Kimbra's Album 'Vows' Is the Greatest Album to Exist.


I'm sure we all remember the ever so famous hit song, 'Somebody That I Used To Know'. Although accused of slipping off and disappearing, the woman in that song, Kimbra, most definitely did not. In 2011 I remember going to a big HMV and buying my first CD for myself. I immediately picked up 'Vows' by Kimbra. I was obsessed with her voice, her style, and I needed more.


Since then, there has not been a single MONTH in my life that I have not listened to this album. Since then, Kimbra's sound has changed a lot, so I always like to listen to what I call the 'roots' of her music.


In this album, Kimbra shows off how insane her voice is. From harmonies to range, this woman's voice is honestly unbeatable. It blows me away to this day. Not only that, but Kimbra is able to show that she is diverse in her music making ability. From Jazz to Indie to Rock elements, it is all there.

This album is a piece of art. The way she writes her lyrics is like an old fairytale, a witches spell, a distorted dream - it transports you to her brain and the world she created. And, as I always say, I do love an artist that is able to talk about serious things. Not only though does she touch on deep relationships, heartbreak, mental illness, personal growth, etc... but she talks about taboo things, opening them up to be - well - less taboo.


What I love especially is that every single song is so, so, different, yet what connects them and makes it her sound, is her voice. The incredible range of songs and vocals and tempos, it would almost be a mess if it wasn't for her voice grounding you within every single one.


If you do anything today, make sure it is listening to 'Vows' by Kimbra. I promise you will not regret it.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page