top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

'I Wanted to be the Main Character' - Interview with NIN-JA

ME: You have this sort of aesthetic with pops of colour. Is that done on purpose? What draws you to it?


NIN-JA: In my every day I'm always wearing like black, so it's like an alter ego. I feel like everybody does the black and white thing whereas the colours bring in attention. I can do anything with it. People do that grunge look but I want to bring in more attention than just black and white.


M: When did you know music is what you wanted to do?


N: There was one realization when I wanted to do it full time and one where I realized that I don't wanna just write for people or for fun especially at uni; I wanna be the main character. I didn't want to let anyone else have my shine. I've been writing since I was seven and music has always been in my life, my dad plays a lot of stuff and there was always instruments around the house. It was just that jump from knowing I wanted to do it to wanting to be in the centre of it.


M: Lockjaw, your new single, just came out. How do you feel about it?


N: It is my baby. Especially the topic. I wrote it about my anxiety but I didn't want to write a sad song simultaneously. I don't really open up to people in my life and so I used music as a way to communicate the things I haven't been able to. I'm happy that it's out although it was nerving. People assumed it was a love song so when it came out I was scared. Every time I listen to it I love it.


M: What has the response to lockjaw been like?


N: They love it, I think they were expecting something a bit more different from me. When they get to know what it's about especially. Even random people finding it have had a really good response.

M: Your EP is coming out this year - how does that feel?


N: All those songs are my babies. I'm so excited, it's been a year since I've like released music. There's a couple really special songs on there too that I'm especially excited for. Some have the same vibe and some are really different.


M: What can we look forward to?


N: There's a lot coming. Obviously the EP, which means singles before it drops, maybe some videos (wink wink), a photoshoot, a lot of new content and I've been in the studio recording and writing as much as I possibly can. There's so much on the way, no ones ready.


M: I loved your video to lockjaw. What about manga/anime draws you to it so much?


N: I used to watch it when I was younger, I don't anymore really but the style really goes with my vibe and the songs. Visually it's always interested me. I think it allows me to play a character too.


22 views0 comments
bottom of page