top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

'I’m in the right place... and it’s just a beginning.' Interview with Parks, Squares & Alleys.


Image via rodzvuk on Instagram


ME: The first song I heard by you was We’re not just friends which pretty much became the song of my year around 2017 and listening back it’s still one of my favourites but it’s certainly become nostalgic. Do you aim on making music that people can come back to and still feel things and the emotions they felt when they first heard it?


KHAVRO SERGEY: The only thing I’m trying to do is to catch an inspiring moment and put it into a song. Sometimes when I listen to some old favorite tracks I can’t say that I feel as same as I was when I found them for the first time, but there are a lot of songs that seem eternal for me. So when I write my stuff there is an intention to make something valuable, something that you can play again and again and you won’t be tired of it.   


This year you had over 4 million streams on Spotify! That’s crazy. How does that feel as someone who is still super young and growing constantly music wise?


Hah, you know, I feel like I’m in the right place, at the right time and it’s just a beginning. And the craziest thing for me that writing songs is my full time job now and I would have never thought it would happen so soon. 


You’re Russian but your songs are sang in English. Do you prefer singing in English or did it feel more like a requirement?


I was and I am into poetry and songs in English. When I was a kid I flouted music in Russian except Mike Naumenko and Кино band, besides my writing skill was quite poor. So when my inner critic prevailed, I made a provident decision to write in English then. For Russian speakers the music came to the front, my hands were untied then, I was 15 feeling no shame about rhyming “fuck” and “suck” and nobody payed an attention on that. So later I became more confident of writing in English and took it more serious.

By the way I started writing in Russian 3 years ago and it’s not a simple task either.


Whats the craziest thing a fan has said to you or about you?


The craziest thing is that a lot of people are keep writing me they have been thinking that Parks, Squares and Alleys is an English new-wave band from 80s, I consider it as a quite nice compliment!


Where’s your favourite place that you’ve performed as of yet?


We performed in Rostov-on-Don, and it was the last gig before the club was closed forever. There were only 70 people, but it was the most powerful and magical concert we’ve ever played. Our sound engineer said she thought like there were Talking Heads on the stage. It was the really extraordinary place with a charming crew, we got high and played poker with bartenders, waitresses and other workers after the show.


Can we expect some new music in 2020?


Sure, I’m working on 2 albums at the moment. The first one is our new project with a magnificent singer Dasha Shultz and it’s in Russian by the way. 

New PS&A album is 50% done and I hope I’ll release it until the November. 


Do you feel like your sound has changed or stayed the same throughout the years and do you want it to change or stay the same in the future?


While I’m changing as a person my music changes too. Also I improve my gear and it affects the sound and my engineering skills. But there is a thing I keep in mind that there should be a balance between my old way of recording and new tricks I can bring to the records.


What is something you want fans and listeners to feel and take away when they hear your songs?


I want to create another dimension for the listeners where they would be able to disappear, forget about their worries and feel cooler than ever.


If you could pick just one, what song means the most to you?


I think this is “Sometimes” by James or “Emma’s House” by The Field Mice. I’ve heard them thousand of times but they still can make me cry, holding me in a pleasant sorrow and purest joy.


Finally, has 2019 treated you well: been full of fun, inspiring moments?


It’s been tough, full of important decisions, actions and fighting with procrastination, but also I’ve got a second cat and it’s hilarious :)

24 views0 comments
bottom of page