top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

First Aid Kit's 'Palomino' is a Beautiful Journey into Love and Life.


'Palomino', First Aid Kit's fifth album, was finally released last Friday. With successful single releases, the expectations for said album were extremely high. On the lead up to the albums release, the duo decided to share a snippet of each remaining song a day - which, in all honesty, I wish more artists would do, softening the blow to a bunch of new songs you're either impressed or disappointed by.


I'm sure I was the first listener as Palomino went live at midnight in the UK. Thanks to their snippet a day, I had eyes on a few songs I felt I'd like the most, and I was right. But, realistically speaking, there wasn't a single song on this album that disappointed me at all. As a long term fan of the duo, I knew what to expect, and they served exactly that.


Pulling in their typical country inspiration, acoustic elements and songs all about love and life, this album is certainly a First Aid Kit creation. I believe, especially within the genres the duo play in, that it would be very easy to have every song sound exactly the same and I was doused in relief when I heard that they did not.

Ranging from upbeat belters to sad ballad-sounding songs, First Aid Kit present to us an album that is the root of who these two are as musicians, in a beautiful and fantastical, down to earth way. Each album of theirs shows inspiration from older music, yet stays absolutely in tune with the time we're in.


First Aid Kit are a fierce duo who love deeply and live feverously. Deep emotions are swam into, dived into, and explored instead of denied and ignored. Love is far from turned away, and heartbreak is met with the exact same greeting.


If it's not obvious, I am over the moon with this album, and even more excited to see them live in December. Look out for a review on that too. First Aid Kit, you have absolutely done it again.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page