top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

The Most Brit Gig Ever - King Krule Live Review

A few months ago, my little sister asked me to come with her to see King Krule live. As long as I don't hate the music, I'll say yes to any concert (hence my heartbreak at not being able to go and see the last dinner party live despite having tickets because I was ill). Prior to the gig, KK released If Only it was Warmth, and I fell in love with it. Still, going into this, I had very little idea what to expect. Seemingly, his music bounces every which way in genres. Yet, when I got there, and experienced it, I equally wasn't very surprised.


Imagine a white rich school of people all around the same age all with the same style... yeah, that's the audience that love King Krule apparently; which, does appear odd in some aspects. By no means does this discredit Mr Krule; his voice live is insane, just as recorded, he's got a hell of a stage presence (well, his saxophone player really steals the show lets put it that way) and the range of his music is stunningly orchestrated.


King Krule has an image that is artistry in itself; it's strange, isolating, yet warm. Although I could hardly see him, as you can see in my images, I would still say that he's worth seeing. In my opinion, as someone who has gone to probably too many concerts in her life, King Krule is an artist you can sit and talk with your friends at whilst having a beer (if thats what tickles your fancy; I'm much rather a coffee girl myself). Despite hints and notes of rock, he's overall a generally chill music kinda dude.

king krule 2023 London concert review

I think I need an entire paragraph dedicated to saxophone guy. If you're British, and just a tad older than me usually, you'll know of the Happy Mondays, probably. The Happy Mondays had what is called a Bez. Bez is actually a family friend of my family. Bez just stood. there, as they played music, dancing like he's high and drunk, as he probably was, and sometimes played a tambourine. Saxophone guy is our generations Bez, and for that I immediately give King Krule five stars.


One very slightly odd moment of the night is when Krule says into the microphone; meow for me. And, everyone aside from me and my sister who are side eyeing one another in this moment, abides. I'm unsure at what this meant, nor do I think I want to know, but it was entertaining to say the least.


Ultimately, yes. I liked the show! It was entertaining, he was talented, and it was a night I'm very happy I went to. Am I a die-hard fan now? Not quite; but you don't have to be a die-hard fan of everybody and anybody to see them live and enjoy that experience, so I do definitely recommend going and having a listen if and when you can.

king krule 2023 London concert review

bottom of page